The American Glass Guild is excited to be holding our 10th Anniversary Conference in Rockville, MD and Washington, DC, June 18-21, 2015. Special events will take place at the Washington National Cathedral, a stained-glass lover’s paradise.

To kick off the conference, several workshops will be given by leading artists in our field on Thursday, June 18th. This is a great opportunity to get hands on instruction from some very talented and experienced glass artists. Class sizes are limited, so sign up early! 

Lectures and demonstrations by national and international artists will take place June 19th - 21st, and our Annual Live Auction, which raises funds for the James Whitney Memorial Scholarship, will take place on Friday night, June 19th. 

The AGG’s annual juried exhibition American Glass Now: 2015 will be on view in the tower of the National Catherdral from May 1st  to July 31st, with an opening reception and walk through with both the jury and the artists on Saturday, June 20th.

To conclude the conference, a Bus Tour of highlights of the region’s incredible stained glass windows will take place on Sunday afternoon, June 21st. 

Don’t miss this historic conference.  We look forward to seeing you there!

Tony Glander, Conference Chair  

Visit our Conference Page for an overview and to Register.

Visit our Conference Blog for the most up to date information about speakers, demonstrations, workshops, transportation.

Deadline for Hotel Discount is approaching (May 27th)!
Click here for Hotel Information


AMERICAN GLASS NOW: 2015 now on view May 1-July 31, 2015

The American Glass Guild is very pleased to announce our 4th Annual Juried Exhibit is now on view at the Washington National Cathedral, on the 7th floor observatory.

The 17 selected artists are: 
Kathy Barnard, Joseph Cavalieri, Marie Foucault Phipps, Saara Gallin, Tony Glander, Nancy Gong, Mary Clerkin Higgins, J. Kenneth Leap, Ellen Mandelbaum, Sean Merchant, Troy Moody, Nancy Nicholson, Scott Ouderkirk, Nicholas Parrendo, Richard Prigg, Patrice Schelkun, and Amy Valuck.

Many thanks to the jury - Virginia Raguin (Professor of Art History at College of the Holy Cross), Judith Schaechter (Artist and Educator at University of the Arts in Philadelphia, PA Academy of the Arts, and the NY Academy of the Arts), and Cynthia Williams (Director of the Smithsonian-Mason MA in the History of Decorative Arts). 

The show will be in the tower of the National Cathedral in Washington, D.C. from May 1st to July 31st, 2015. The Jury will review and critique the finished panels at the 10th AGG conference, June 18-21, and present up to three American Glass Guild AGNX Awards for Excellence in the Art of Stained Glass, considering creative use of materials, original expression, aesthetic impact, clarity of narrative, and complexity of execution.

Join the conversation on twitter! #americanglassnow

Preview 2015 Exhibition Catalog. This is available for purchase below or by visiting, where you will also be able to purchase our 2013 and 2014 Exhibition Catalogs. (Starting at $24.99 for softcover version plus shipping for orders under 20)


Several board members have reached their term limits – Three are stepping down – Marie Foucault-Phipps, Tom Krepcio, and Nancy Nicholson.  We owe them (and all our board members) a huge debt of gratitude for their vision and hard work on our behalf.  It’s a significant responsibility to serve on the board, and also an amazing opportunity to help promote and guide our organization, now ten years strong. 

We have a wonderful slate for the upcoming elections being held Sunday, June 21st, at the conference Business Meeting: Stephen Hartley, Rick Prigg and Patrice Heinz Schelkun who are running for reelection, and new nominees Nancy Gong, Carol Slovikosky and Daniel White.  Please take a moment to look over their statements.  

Volunteering to serve on the board is one of the most substantial ways you can help your field and colleagues.  Thank you to the candidates for their commitment. As always, we will also be accepting nominations from the floor during the Business Meeting.

Nominating Committee
Maria Serpentino, Chair
Mary Clerkin Higgins
Victor Rothman